Women’s Game sores to new heights

WML Group

The Macarthur Football Association (MFA) and Southern Districts Soccer Football Association (SDSFA) have joined forces to establish a 12-team Women’s Premier League competition for season 2022.








With Football for Women and Girls a strategic priority for both Associations, the joint initiative is designed to strengthen the League and create a competitive and enjoyable playing experience for the best female talent across the South-West.

MFA Chairman Darcy Lound announced on Monday that the League, to be known as the M-League, will feature seven teams from Macarthur and five teams from Southern Districts and will consist of 22 rounds commencing in mid-March.

“The expanded League is sure to add some unpredictability and excitement to the Women’s Game”. Lound said.



Joining the MFA Chairman at the announcement was SDSFA Head of Football Catherine Cannuli and Football NSW Head of Women’s Football Hayley Todd.

Cannuli believes the new Women’s M-League competition provides another pathway for young female players to aspire to.

“We’ve been working really hard on the development of our young female footballers and to now have roles models in this League to look up to, ahead of the Women’s World Cup in 2023, is unbelievable. We’re really proud to be merging with Macarthur and can’t wait to see where this goes.” Cannuli said

Todd congratulated both Macarthur and Southern Districts for the ‘progressive move’.

“It’s a fantastic opportunity for the female players in this region, and with the Women’s World Cup on our doorstep it’s going to go a long way to promote female football in both Associations”. Todd said.



The MFA will manage the M-League, with the Match of the Round to be streamed live thanks to media partners Jum Media. As an added incentive, up to $8,000 in prizemoney is up for grabs for Premiers and Champions of the League.

The 12 teams competing in the Women’s M-League include the Camden Tigers, Harrington Hornets, Tahmoor Taipans, Oran Park Rovers, Eschol Park Wolves, St Mary’s Saints, Narellan Rangers (MFA clubs), Liverpool City Robins, Sporting Rovers, AC United, Liverpool Rangers, and Sydney United (SDSFA clubs).


Searching for Clubs?

Find clubs, club contacts, field locations and more in our clubs directory. 

Get social

Upcoming Events